Hetmyer, Joseph in WICB President’s XI squad to face Proteas at Queen’s Park Oval

ST JOHN’S, Antigua – West Indies Under-19 players Shimron Hetmyer and fast bowler Alzarri Joseph have been named in the 13-man WICB President’s XI squad, announced by the WICB Selection Panel.


The team will face South Africa in a day/night 50-over match at Queen’s Park Oval on Sunday, May 29 at 1pm.


Hetmyer was the captain and Joseph the leading fast bowler in the West Indies Under-19 team which won the ICC Under-19 World Cup in Bangladesh in February.


The WICB President’s XI will be led by Test opening batsman Kraigg Brathwaite. The squad also includes left-hander Evin Lewis, who was a member of the West Indies team, which won the ICC World T20 in India last month.

Several other players with international experience have also been selected: batsmen Jermaine Blackwood, and Jason Mohammed; wicket-keeper Shane Dowrich; left-arm spinner Nikita Miller; and allrounder Rayad Emrit.


The Proteas are using the match as part of their preparations for the upcoming Tri Nation ODI Series, which also features West Indies and Australia.



Kraigg Brathwaite (Captain)

Shimron Hetmyer

Jermaine Blackwood

Damion Jacobs

Shane Dowrich

Jason Mohammed

Evin Lewis

Alzarri Joseph

Jon Russ Jaggesar

Andre McCarthy

Nikita Miller

Rayad Emrit

Delorn Johnson


Team Management

Graeme West (Manager/Coach)

Vasbert Drakes (Coach)

Oba Gulston (Physiotherapist)

Zephyrinus Nicholas (Strength and Conditioning Trainer)