West Indies squad for training camp ahead of Australia series

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados – The West Indies Cricket Board announced today a 12-member West Indies squad for a training camp in Barbados ahead of the International Home Test Series against Australia.

The training camp takes place from May 25 to 29 with sessions being staged at the Franklyn Stephenson Academy in the community of Bennetts in the central Barbados parish of St. Thomas.

Devendra Bishoo
Jermaine Blackwood
Kraigg Brathwaite
Darren Bravo
Shannon Gabriel
Jason Holder
Shai Hope
Veerasammy Permaul
Denesh Ramdin
Kemar Roach
Marlon Samuels
Jerome Taylor

Team Management Unit
Phil Simmons (Head Coach)
Sir Richie Richardson (Manager)
Stuart Williams (Assistant Coach)
Sir Curtly Ambrose (Bowling Consultant)
Andre Coley (Assistant Coach)
C.J. Clark (Physiotherapist)
Hector Martinez Charles (Fitness Coordinator)
Richard Berridge (Video Analyst)
Virgil Browne (Massage Therapist)
Philip Spooner (Media Relations Manager)


The players that will not be involved in the training camp have been officially notified. This includes veteran left-hander Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

Convenor of Selectors Clive Lloyd has communicated this to Chanderpaul both verbally and in writing, explaining the Selection Panel’s omission.

“This was a tough decision for the Selection Panel to make,” said Lloyd. “We recognise the significant contribution Chanderpaul has made to the West Indies teams over the last two decades, but we want to take this opportunity to introduce a number of young, promising players into the squad.”

The squad for the first Test against the Australians will be finalised next Friday. It coincides with the final day of the tour match between the WICB President’s XI, a composite side of Test hopefuls, and the Aussies, starting next Wednesday at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua.