WICB President salutes Ambrose; lauds Taylor and Bishoo

London, England – President of the West Indies Cricket Board Dr. Julian Hunte has sent congratulations to West Indies legend Curtly Ambrose, Stafanie Taylor and Devendra Bishoo.


online casino

Ambrose was inducted into the International Cricket Council Hall of Fame while Taylor won the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year award and Bishoo took the ICC Emerging Player of the Year award.

"The entire West Indian cricketing family and indeed the world cricketing family stand and salute the icon Curtly Ambrose on being inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame," Dr. Hunte said.

"Curtly has been a fierce warrior on the field for the West Indies and an outstanding ambassador of West Indies cricket," Dr. Hunte added.

"His induction into the ICC Hall of Fame is a most fitting honour for a man whose cricketing career stands tall among the giants of the game," Dr. Hunte said.

"On behalf of the West Indies Cricket Board and all the cricket-loving people of the Caribbean I would also like to congratulate Stafanie and Devendra on winning these prestigious awards," lauded the WICB President.

"These two young players have done extremely well for the West Indies on the field and have been great ambassadors off the field. They continue to make us proud.

"Stafanie has been superb at the top of the order for the West Indies and has also excelled with the ball. She has made a major contribution to the rise of women’s cricket in the Caribbean.

"Devendra got his first chance during the ICC World Cup and grabbed it with both hands. He has been brilliant in his short career so far, and has demonstrated a willingness to learn. He has improved with every match and great things are expected from him in the future."

Ambrose took 405 Test wickets at an average of 20.99 in a glittering career. Among his most memorable performances were his 6 for 24 to bowl England out for 46 at the Queen’s Park Oval in 1993 and 7 for 25 against Australia at the WACA in 1993. The Antiguan featured in 176 ODIs, finishing with 225 wickets at an average of 24.12.