2018 RBC Baseball and Softball tournament

The 2018 RBC Baseball and Softball School tournament organized by the St. Maarten Little League Association came to a close over the weekend at the Little League Stadium.
The Tournament commenced in October 2018 with 8 elementary and 5 secondary school teams for baseball and 4 elementary and 5 secondary/tertiary teams for softball.
Baseball:                                                                                          Softball:
Milton Peters College (Braves and Mixed)                                     Milton Peters College (Tigres, Angels and Eagles)
St. Maarten Vocational Training School                                         Sundial Doves
Sundial School                                                                                NIPA Hawks
St. Maarten Academy PSVE                                                          Catholic Schools Squad
Zuster Magda Primary                                                                   Public Schools (M. Genevieve de Weever)
Ruby Labega Primary                                                                    Public Schools Rubie

Oranje School                                                                                Methodist Agogic Center Diamonds

Methodist Agogic Center
Combined Schools
M. Genevieve de Weever
Zuster Borgia Primary
Hillside Christian Schools

Minister of Education, Culture, Youth and Sport Mr. Wycliffe Smith, Ms. Ruby Wilks representative of RBC Bank and Ms. Jonelle Richardson Head of the Department of Sport were on hand to present the trophies to the teams. The overview of the winning teams is as follows:

Elementary Schools Baseball:
Champion: Zuster Magda
Sub-Champion: Hillside Christian
3rd place: Marie Genevieve de Weever Primary

Secondary Schools Baseball:
Champion: Milton Peters College Stars
Sub-Champion: St. Maarten Academy PSVE
3rd place: Milton Peters College Mixed school

Elementary Schools Softball:
Champion: Catholic Schools Squad
Sub-Champion: Public Schools Rubies
3rd place: Public Schools Marie Genevieve de Weever

Secondary Schools Softball:
Champion: Milton Peters College Tigres
Sub-Champion: Milton Peters College Eagles
3rd place: NIPA Hawks

All players and coaches will also receive a commemorative Medal.


The St. Maarten Little League Association is pleased to have been able to host the tournament again; the first since the passing of hurricane Irma in 2017. Thank you goes out to the following organizations and persons for making this possible.
-Corporate Citizen RBC Bank for once more sponsoring the tournament;
-the schools for registering their teams to participate in the tournament;
-the coaches who gave of their time to train and coach the teams;
-the umpires and scorers for officiating the games;
-the volunteers in the concession stand;
-parents and fans for their support;
-the media for their support.

A special thank you to the players. You made it worthwhile.


**Pictures of the presentation on Sint Maarten Little League Baseball and Softball Association
facebook page