ST. JOHN’S, Antigua – Barbados Pride and Leeward Islands Hurricanes will get the second round of the Digicel 4-Day Championship off and running, starting tomorrow at Kensington Oval.

The two teams start a day earlier than the rest of the teams, due to the state funeral of former Barbados Governor-General, Sir Clifford Husbands, on Friday.

Pride and Hurricanes are now scheduled to play the first two days tomorrow and Thursday, enjoy a rest day on Friday, before returning to complete the match on Saturday and Sunday.

Here’s how the two teams match-up. . .

Barbados Pride vs Leeward Islands Hurricanes at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados

This will be the key match of the round, after Pride and Hurricanes earned the majority of the points in their first-round matches, having secured draws against Trinidad & Tobago Red Force and Windward Islands Volcanoes respectively.

Hurricanes, lately the “Cinderella” side of the Championship, are currently second in the standing and the Pride, the bridesmaid in each of the three Cricket West Indies Professional Cricket League seasons, are third.

Both teams will be looking to take things a step further and secure victory to give a boost their position in the standings and stay within reach of current leaders and reigning three-time champions, Guyana Jaguars.

History favours the Pride in this contest: They have won five of the six matches between the two sides in the PCL era, including all three at Kensington Oval.

The Hurricanes however, can hang their hats on their home match last season, when they ran the Pride close and almost achieved victory, but several of the main players in that performance are missing, due to Windies duty.

Both sides have listed unchanged squads for the contest, meaning the result will depend mainly on the advancement of the young players on the Pride, along with the stability brought by the seniors, against a Hurricanes side packed with far more regular faces.

PRIDE (from) – Kevin Stoute (captain), Anthony Alleyne, Jonathan Carter, Shakeem Clarke, Justin Greaves, Aaron Jones, Shayne Moseley, Ashley Nurse, Mario Rampersaud, Shamar Springer, Hayden Walsh, Jomel Warrican, Kenroy Williams
HURRICANES (from) ­– Devon Thomas (captain), Elvin Berridge, Nkrumah Bonner, Jason Campbell, Keacy Carty, Chesney Hughes, Jeremiah Louis, Mervin Matthew, Akeem Saunders, Stanny Simon, Jacques Taylor, Gavin Tonge, Terrence Warde
UMPIRES – Gregory Brathwaite, Danesh Ramdhanie (Trinidad & Tobago)
MATCH REFEREE – Stephen Proverbs
RESERVE UMPIRE – Ryan Willoughby