Rotary Sunrise Members Elected into the Parliament of Sint Maarten

It was a proud moment as two members of The Rotary Club of St. Martin Sunrise, Claret Connor and  Siddarth ‘Cookie’ Bijlani, became Members of Parliament on Monday 31st October 2016.

Cookie has been a part of the club since it was first started in 2004. He has served many positions in the club including being the president in 2006-2007 . Currently, he is the treasurer.

Claret Connor has also been with the club since it’s inception. He has served in several capacities and as the president in 2008-2009 Rotary year. He continued to remain active in promoting community development of the country even during his time as former Minister of Economic Affairs, Transport, and Telecommunications.  Hearty congratulations also goes out to Claret Connor for being elected as new president of Sint Maarten Parliament.

Incumbent club president of the Rotary Club of St. Martin Sunrise Drs. Okama Ekpe Brook was there as the members attended their first parliamentary meeting. She congratulated the new MPs on behalf of all the club members and encouraged them to continue service above self just as the Rotary has asked of all its members. President Okama further noted how proud she was of their accomplishments as community leaders who are now serving in the House of the People. On the occasion of this economic and community development month, the Rotary Sunrisers look forward to continue to work with the Members of Parliament for the sustainable development of St. Maarten.


The Rotary Club of St. Martin Sunrise meets every Tuesday at the Ginger Bread Café Restaurant,  Belair Beach Hotel  from 7:00AM to 8:00AM. For more information on the club, visit our website at or email su***************@ho*****.com. We are also on Facebook: Rotary Club of St. Martin Sunrise.