Permanent Committee of CECYSA Appoints MP Silveria Jacobs as Chair and MP Tamara Leonard as Vice Chair

The Committee for Education, Culture, Youth and Sports Affairs (CECYSA) of Parliament met on Friday, February 13, 2015 at 9.30 am to elect a new chair and vice chair on the request of a majority of members.

The committee increased by an additional three members and now consists of eight Members of Parliament (MPs) namely, MP Hon. Silveria Jacobs, MP Hon. Sarah Wescott Williams, MP Hon. Tamara Leonard, MP Hon. Christopher Emmanuel, MP Hon. Maurice Lake, MP Hon. Leona Marlin-Romeo, MP Hon. Johan Leonard and MP Hon. Van Hugh de Weever.

As a result of this request the Chairperson MP Silveria Jacobs as well the Vice Chair MP Sarah Wescott Williams both tendered their resignations.

MP Silveria Jacobs was re-elected as Chair, and MP Tamara Leonard was elected as Vice Chair both by unanimous vote by all seven members present.

MP Sarah Wescott Williams was not present for the permanent committee session.

The committee pledged to continue to work in the interest of finding solutions and making proposals to Parliament in the field of Education, Culture, Youth and Sports.

Based on the aforementioned, a planning and preparatory meeting of the CECYSA has been scheduled for Thursday February 19, 2015 at 3.30 pm.