Minister Plenipotentiary Fleming-Artsen meets with Chairlady of Dutch Second Chamber of Parliament

Minister Plenipotentiary Hon. Josianne Fleming-Artsen on Monday, January 26 met with the Chairlady of the Dutch Second Chamber of Parliament Hon. Anouchka van Miltenburg regarding current affairs.

Minister Plenipotentiary Fleming-Artsen stated that the meeting was of an introductory nature and also part of her plan to rebuild relations between the two countries, Sint Maarten and the Netherlands.

“We had a very open discussion.  Van Miltenburg visited Sint Maarten in 2014 and she now has a better understanding of the diversity of the various countries, and also the complexities of small scale societies.

“Van Miltenburg also known as the Speaker of the House of Representatives has a very open mind for Sint Maarten’s viewpoint regarding the Integrity Chamber when we discuss integrity.

“The Dutch Speaker of the House would also like to meet with Sint Maarten ministers when they come to the Netherlands on a working visit.  This will in my opinion further enhance a better understanding for the challenges and complexities that exist and finding solutions together, but looking at it from our perspective.

“We are on the right track with respect to improving the relationship and the basis of this moving forward is respect and mutual understanding,” Minister Plenipotentiary Hon. Josianne Fleming-Artsen said on Tuesday.

The Minister Plenipotentiary will be meeting with the Chairperson of the Dutch First Chamber of Parliament in early February as well as the faction leaders.

“My mission in the Netherlands is to build better relations with the Dutch, and this process has started a few weeks ago. We all will benefit when we work together,” Minister Plenipotentiary Josianne Fleming-Artsen concluded.

Anouchka van Miltenburg is a Dutch politician of the People’s Party for Freedom and Democracy. She has been the President of the Dutch Second Chamber of Parliament (Tweede Kamer) since September 25, 2012, and a Member of the Parliament since January 30, 2003.