Windies U19s, CCC to play alongside franchises in NAGICO Super50

ST. JOHN’S, Antigua – West Indies Under-19s and Combined Campuses & Colleges will form part of an eight-team NAGICO Super50 Tournament, starting on Thursday, January 15 next year in Trinidad and Tobago.

The tournament is being used by the Windies Under-19s as part of a long-term build-up for the next ICC Under-19 World Cup in 2016.

The Windies Under-19s have been drawn in Group “B” next to the Jamaica Franchise, Leeward Islands Hurricanes and hosts Trinidad & Tobago Red Force.

The CCC have been an integral part of the regional scene for the last seven seasons – but they are not a part of the ongoing WICB Professional Cricket League Regional 4-Day Tournament, following a shift to franchise-based teams.

The composite university side have been drawn in Group “A” along with reigning champions Barbados Pride, as well as Guyana Jaguars and Windward Islands Volcanoes.

The preliminary competition will be played on a non-elimination format with each side playing the others in their group once and two matches being contested each day at either the Queen’s Park Oval, the T&T Cricket Board’s National Cricket Centre in the central Trinidad community of Couva or Shaw Park in Scarborough, the capital of Trinidad’s sister island Tobago.

The top two teams from each group advance to the semi-finals at the Oval, where the group winners play the runners-up from the opposite group in a one-off match for a place in the Grand Final on Sunday, January 25 at the same venue.

The Pride kick off the tournament against their national rivals CCC at the NCC on Thursday, January 15.


GROUP “A” – Barbados Pride, Combined Campuses & Colleges, Guyana Jaguars, Windward Islands Volcanoes
GROUP “B” – Jamaica Franchise, Leeward Islands Hurricanes, Trinidad & Tobago Red Force, West Indies Under-19s

Thursday, January 15
Pride vs CCC – National Cricket Centre
Volcanoes vs Jaguars – Queen’s Park Oval

Friday, January 16
Red Force vs Windies Under-19s – Shaw Park
Jamaica Franchise vs Hurricanes – Queen’s Park Oval

Saturday, January 17
Jaguars vs Pride – Queen’s Park Oval
Volcanoes vs CCC –National Cricket Centre

Sunday, January 18
Red Force vs Jamaica Franchise – Queen’s Park Oval
Hurricanes vs Windies Under-19s – National Cricket Centre

Monday, January 19
Volcanoes vs Pride – Shaw Park
Jaguars vs CCC – Queen’s Park Oval

Tuesday, January 20
Red Force vs Hurricanes – Queen’s Park Oval
Jamaica Franchise vs Windies Under-19s – National Cricket Centre

Thursday, January 22
1st semi-final: Winner Zone A vs Runner-up Zone B – Queen’s Park Oval

Friday, January 23
2nd semi-final: Winner Zone B vs Runner-up Zone A – Queen’s Park Oval

Sunday, January 24
Grand Final: Winner Semi-final 1 vs Winner Semi-final 2 – Queen’s Park Oval

Monday, January 25
Reserve day