WICB PCL R4Day Tournament bulletin | Round 3

ST. JOHN’S, Antigua – The oldest rivalry in West Indies first-class matches will be the centre of attraction in the third round of the WICB Professional Cricket League Regional 4-Day Tournament, starting on Friday.

Leaders Guyana Jaguars hosts long-time rivals and reigning double-crown regional champions Barbados Pride in the key match of the round at the Guyana National Stadium.

At the same time, Trinidad & Tobago Red Force meet the Jamaica Franchise at Queen’s Park Oval and Windward Islands Volcanoes face the Leeward Islands Franchise at the Grenada National Stadium.

In Providence, Guyana: The Jaguars have put home advantage to telling use and unexpectedly rushed to the top of the standings with victories from their first two matches and they will be looking to continue in this vein.

Inclement weather has set Barbados back in their first two matches, denying them a chance to push for victory in their opener against the Red Force and allowing just 43.4 overs against the Jamaica Franchise.

Both sides will be looking to forge ahead – the Jaguars to extend their lead in the Tournament and the Pride to land that elusive first victory.

History favours the visitors. They have won six of the last 13 matches against the home team in the last decade including a 136-run victory earlier this year at the same venue.

Like many of the team around the League, both have had to replace key players that will leave this weekend for West Indies duty in South Africa.

The Jaguars have brought teenaged openers Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Shimron Hetmyer in to replace Shivnarine Chanderpaul and fellow left-hander Assad Fudadin, while Vishaul Singh has been chosen to replace another left-hander Johnson not only in the squad, but as captain.

Barbados have reinforced their line-up with the experienced duo of left-handed all-rounder Ryan Hinds and fast bowler Tino Best, as well as batsman Roston Chase in place of Kraigg Brathwaite, Kemar Roach and Sulieman Benn. All-rounder Carlos Brathwaite, the incumbent West Indies “A” Team captain will take over the reins of leadership from his namesake.

In Port of Spain, Trinidad: Second-placed Red Force and third-place Jamaica Franchise will be going all out to shut the gap between themselves and the Jaguars.

The hosts are buoyant following a come-from-behind victory against the Leewards Franchise on the road, but the Jamaica Franchise will be looking to recapture the early momentum following a near wash-out in Barbados.

The visitors’ recent record against and in the two-island republic is fairly sound, but the Red Force have won their last two contests, including a 145-run victory earlier this year at the same venue.

Red Force have brought Stephen Katwaroo, Daniel Sinclair, Kerwyn Sirju and Jeremy Solozano, a cluster of young, talented players into the fray to replace the travelling duo of Denesh Ramdin and Shannon Gabriel, while Yannic Cariah and Bryan Charles have been cut.

The Jamaica Franchise have turned to Horace Miller to replace Jermaine Blackwood and left-arm fast bowler Sheldon Cottrell takes the place of Jerome Taylor and will be looking to prove his match fitness to the West Indies selection panel before hopping on a plane to South Africa.

In St. George’s, Grenada: Windwards Volcanoes and the Leewards Franchise will look to kick-start their season following stumbles in their first two matches.

Both have lost twice this season, sinking them to the bottom two positions in the table, and will be yearning for far more stability and a big haul of points to give them a boost in the standings.

Interestingly, each of the last eight matches between these two sides have produced a winner, split right down the middle, but the Volcanoes will want a repeat of the contest earlier this year, when they rolled the visitors over by 197 runs at this venue.

Neither side has been hurt tremendously by the departure of West Indies players, but the Volcanoes have gained a boost to their bowling with the return of their champion off-spinner Shane Shillingford in place of wicketkeeper/batsman Lindon James.

Leewards Franchise have brought Montcin Hodge in to fortify their batting at the expense of emerging fast bowler Quinton Boatswain.

The WICB announced on Thursday that it would honour the memory of Australia batsman Philip Hughes following his passing and show solidarity with all those involved with the game in Australia.

The regional governing body has instructed players and officials to observe a minute’s silence before the start of all matches and wear black armbands throughout the weekend.

Hughes died in hospital on Thursday in Australia three days short of his 26th birthday, after he suffered an injury during a first-class match earlier this week at the Sydney Cricket Ground.


Windward Islands Volcanoes vs Leeward Islands Franchise


WINDWARD ISLANDS VOLCANOES (from): Liam Sebastian (captain), Sunil Ambris, Alston Bobb, Johnson Charles, Romel Currency, Andre Fletcher, Keddy Lesporis, Mervin Matthew, Nelon Pascal, Kenroy Peters, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Tyrone Theophile

LEEWARD ISLANDS FRANCHISE (from): Devon Thomas (captain), Montcin Hodge, Jahmar Hamilton, Alzarri Joseph, Yannick Leonard, Jeremiah Louis, Anthony Martin, Orlando Peters, Austin Richards Jr, Lyndell Richardson, Akeem Saunders, Jacques Taylor, Gavin Tonge

UMPIRES: Gregory Brathwaite (Barbados), Peter Nero (Trinidad & Tobago)

MATCH REFEREE: Carlyle Felix

RESERVE UMPIRE: Deighton Butler

Guyana Jaguars vs Barbados Pride


GUYANA JAGUARS (from): Vishaul Singh (captain), Christopher Barnwell, Ronsford Beaton, Devendra Bishoo, Anthony Bramble, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Rajindra Chandrika, Narsingh Deonarine, Trevon Griffith, Shimron Hetmyer, Keon Joseph, Veerasammy Permaul, Raymond Reifer

BARBADOS PRIDE (from): Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Tino Best, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Kyle Corbin, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Ryan Hinds, Shai Hope, Ashley Nurse, Omar Phillips, Dwayne Smith, Jomel Warrican

UMPIRES: Nandkumar Shivsankar, Patrick Gustard (Jamaica)



Trinidad & Tobago Red Force vs Jamaica Franchise


TRINIDAD & TOBAGO RED FORCE (from): Rayad Emrit (captain), Akeal Hosein, Stephen Katwaroo, Imran Khan, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Yannick Ottley, Nicholas Pooran, Marlon Richards, Lendl Simmons, Daniel Sinclair, Kerwyn Sirju, Jeremy Solozano

JAMAICA (from): Tamar Lambert (captain), Carlton Baugh Jr, Dave Bernard Jr, Nkrumah Bonner, John Campbell, Sheldon Cottrell, Damion Jacobs, André McCarthy, Horace Miller, Nikita Miller, Marquino Mindley, Shacaya Thomas, Keno Wallace

UMPIRES: Danesh Ramdhanie, Nigel Duguid (Guyana)

MATCH REFEREE: Michael Ragoonath

RESERVE UMPIRE: Anthony Sanowar