Windies Women squad named for IWC ODIs against New Zealand Women

ST. JOHN’S, Antigua – The selection panel of the West Indies Cricket Board announced on Tuesday, a 13-member West Indies Women’s squad for their opening series in the ICC Women’s Championship against New Zealand Women on home soil.


Squad (with jersey numbers, surnames capitalised)

11. Merissa AGUILLEIRA (Captain)

7. Stafanie TAYLOR (Vice Captain)

30. Shemaine CAMPBELLE

31. Britney COOPER

35. Shanel DALEY

5. Deandra DOTTIN

42. Kycia KNIGHT

50. Hayley MATTHEWS

44. Natasha McLEAN

14. Anisa MOHAMMED

43. Shaquana QUINTYNE

33. Tremayne SMARTT

4. Shakera SELMAN


Team management unit

Sherwin Campbell (Head Coach)

Ann Browne-John (Manager)

Ezra Moseley (Assistant Coach)

Jacqui King (Physiotherapist)

Shannon Lashley (Fitness Trainer)

Trent Sargeant (Video Analyst)


The 16-year-old Matthews, who bats right-handed and bowls off-spin, is the only uncapped player in the squad.


All-rounder Britney Cooper makes a return to the squad. Her previous ODI was against India Women three Februarys ago at the same venue for the upcoming matches.


Talismanic batter Deandra Dottin also makes a return, after missing the previous ODI series against the White Ferns last February in New Zealand.


The inaugural edition of the IWC will see the top eight sides in the women’s game lock horns in a multi-year, bilateral qualifying competition that will lead into the pinnacle event in women’s cricket, the ICC Women’s World Cup.


Developed in order to create a more extensive and meaningful bilateral playing programme for women’s cricket, the IWC will see the eight sides play each other in three One-Day Internationals, either at home or away, between 2014 and 2016.


Points will be awarded for each game, with the top four sides at the conclusion of the ICC Women’s Championship gaining automatic qualification to the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017, to be hosted by the England & Wales Cricket Board.


The bottom four sides will have a second chance to qualify for the marquee event through the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2017, details of which will be announced in due course.


The bottom four will join six regional qualifiers and face off for the final four positions at the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017.


In this forthcoming series, West Indies Women and New Zealand Women will play four One-day Internationals – the results of the first three matches counting towards their IWC tally – all at Warner Park in St. Kitts.


This will be followed by three Twenty20 Internationals – all at the Arnos Vale Multiplex in St. Vincent.