Parliamentarians to register for European Union parliamentary elections

President Arrindell calls on nation to vote

The President of Parliament Hon. Gracita Arrindell last week handed out to Members of Parliament (MP) registration forms for European Union (EU) Parliamentary elections.


The European parliamentary elections are considered the second biggest democratic exercise in the world, where 400 million people can cast their vote for a new European Parliament.

Elections are on May 22 for the 751 member chamber of the European Parliament. Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) represent 503.7 million people in the European Union.

The 751 MEPs will take their seats in July and will set the course of European policies for the next five years. They will also elect the leader of the EU’s executive body, the European Commission President.

The registration forms will have to be turned over to the Office of Dutch Representation on Front Street #26 before April 10 in order for one to be able to participate in the May 22 elections of members to the EU parliament.

The registration forms are available at the Office of Dutch Representation, but can also be downloaded from www.stemmenvanuithetbuitenland,nl. As soon as the voting forms are available, the Representation will invite those who have registered by e-mail, in order to pick them up or have them sent to their home address. People can fill in their form and deliver it in a sealed envelope to the Representation’s Office at the latest May 22nd 2014 at 3 p.m.

President of Parliament Hon. Gracita Arrindell is calling on all inhabitants of Sint Maarten over 18 and holding the Dutch nationality, who wants to use their right to vote to register at the Office of Dutch Representation.

There are 13 European political parties namely: European People’s Party, Party of European Socialists, Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe, Greens, Alliance of European Conservatives and Reformists, The Party of the European Left, Movement for a Europe of Liberties and Democracy, European Democratic Party, European Free Alliance, European Alliance for Freedom, Alliance of European National Movements, European Christian Political Movement, and EU Democrats.

PHOTO CUTLINE: Several MPs holding their registration forms for European Union parliamentary elections. Registration has to be completed before April 10: L to R, MP Hon. Janchie Leonard, MP Hon. Roy Marlin, President of Parliament Hon. Gracita Arrindell, MP Hon. Dr. Lloyd Richardson, MP Hon. Jules James, and Secretary General Jossy Semeleer.