Mr. Max Pandt resigns as Cft BES member


As of 2008 Mr. Th. M. Pandt, also known as Max Pandt, was appointed as a member of the Board of financial supervision (College financieel toezicht) based on the Decree temporary financial supervision BES, upon proposal of the former islands territories Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba (BES).

When the Law on finances for the public entities Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba (Wet financiĆ«n openbare lichamen Bonaire, Sint Eustatius en Saba – Wet FinBES) came into effect, this appointment was prolonged. Mr. Pandt notified Minister Plasterk of Internal Affairs and Kingdom Relations (Binnenlandse Zaken en Koninkrijksrelaties) that he would rather not be eligible for prolongation in October, when his appointment expires. So, he will also retire as a member of the Cft BES.

Mr. Pandt has a long career as a fiscal expert. He has worked at the Tax Office (Belastingdienst) of the Netherlands Antilles and has his own tax consultancy on Sint Maarten. Aside from his career in the tax world, Mr. Pandt was lieutenant governor for the Windward Islands (Sint Maarten, Sint Eustatius and Saba). Mr. Pandt is an active publicist and commentator in the area of tax and sits in a number of supervisory boards. With his sincere involvement with the islands, Mr. Pandt made an important contribution to the completion of the financial supervision on the BES. His dedication over the past five years is highly appreciated.

Following the procedure described in the Wet FinBES, the public entities will now look for a replacement to postulate as a member of the Cft BES for the vacant position. Finding a replacement for Mr. Pandt, and the desired connection between all partners involved, however will take the necessary time. For the benefit of continuity of the Board of financial supervision, Mr. Pandt indicated to be willing to remain in the Board until a replacement is appointed. The Cft BES furthermore consists of President Prof. Age Bakker and the member Sybilla Dekker, upon proposal of The Netherlands. The remaining members of the Board of financial supervision CuraƧao & Sint Maarten, Mr. Alberto Romero and Mr. Richard Gibson, are advisors for the Board of financial supervision Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba.