PM & Minister Richardson Present Check to Winning Students of FCCA Environmental Awareness Youth Pos

PM: "This shows the type of talent and awareness regarding issues amongst the youth of St. Maarten"

The Prime Minister of St. Maarten the Honorable Sarah Wescot-Williams was joined by Minister of Tourism, Economic Affairs, Transportation and Telecommunication the Honorable Ted Richardson in presenting the checks to the St. Maarten winners and participants in the Florida and Caribbean Cruise Association (FCCA) Poster Contest.  

On behalf of the FCCA the Prime Minister presented a Scholarship Check worth USD $1500 dollars to second place winner Isiah Haakmat of the Learning Unlimited School for winning second prize in the Senior Division out of dozens of entries from thirteen nations from within the Caribbean. The Learning Unlimited School also received a scholarship from the FCCA for taking part in the competition.

Sidney De-Weever of the Browlia F. Mailard Campus of the Methodist Agogic Centre also won a cash scholarship worth USD $200 dollars for making it to the final round in the Junior Division.

"I was very happy to be able to present the check to these two very talented students of St. Maarten for reaching so far in the FCCA Poster Contest. This not only shows the type of talent on St. Maarten, talent which Government is continuously fostering, but also an awareness on the environment and the steps taken to address the environmental issues on St. Maarten and in the Caribbean," commented the Prime Minister.

Students were asked to create a poster that visually depicted at least three ways to help protect the environment and promote environmental awareness in their country. The competition’s purpose is to promote and stimulate environmental awareness among students and to effectively educate the younger generations on the importance of environmental protection.

Caption: From left to right Minister of Economic Affairs, Transportation and Telecommunication the Hon. Ted Richardson, second place FCCA Poster Competition Winner Senior Division Isiah Haakmat, the Prime Minister of St. Maarten the Hon. Sarah Wescot-Williams, Learning Unlimited Art Teacher Norma Trimborn, and Learning Unlimited Principle Robert Gibson