18th edition of WICB Regional Under 15 Tournament bowls off July 12 in Jamaica



St John’s, Antigua – The 18th edition of the West Indies Cricket Board Regional Under 15 Tournament will bowl off next week in Jamaica.


Round one of the round robin tournament will commence on Friday July 12 with three matches:

Jamaica v Barbados at St Elizabeth Technical High Schools Ground

Guyana v Leewards at ALPART

Trinidad & Tobago v Windwards at Treasure Beach

The tournament consists of fifteen matches played over five rounds with each of the six teams (Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, Leeward Islands, Trinidad & Tobago and Windward Islands) playing five matches. The matches, as usual, will be over two days and will be played under tailor-made rules for Under 15 cricket.

In the first innings teams will bat for two and a half hours during which a minimum of 37 overs must be bowled.

Also as part of the regulations no fast bowler or medium fast bowler will be allowed to bowl more than six overs in one spell and once the players complete a spell they must rest for a mandatory period of 40 minutes before resuming bowling.

The WICB Regional Under 15 Tournament commenced in 1996 with host Trinidad and Tobago taking the inaugural title at home. Barbados are reigning champions, having won in 2012 when the tournament was played in St Kitts. They previously won in 1997 and 2004.

The Trinidadians have won the most Under 15 regional titles with six (1996, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2010). Hosts Jamaica have won the title on four occasions (2006, 2008, 2009, 2011). Guyana won back-to-back titles in 1998 and 1999 while Windwards emerged victors in 2007. Leeward Islands are yet to win a regional Under 15 title.

Regional Under 15 Tournament Winners (Host in brackets)

1996 – Trinidad and Tobago (Trinidad and Tobago)

1997 – Barbados (St Lucia)

1998 – Guyana (Jamaica)

1999 – Guyana (Guyana)

2000 – Trinidad and Tobago (Trinidad and Tobago)

2001 – Trinidad and Tobago (Trinidad and Tobago)

2002 – Trinidad and Tobago (Trinidad and Tobago)

2003 – No winner (Jamaica)

2004 – Barbados (St Vincent)

2005 – Trinidad and Tobago (Trinidad and Tobago)

2006 – Jamaica (Antigua)

2007 – Windward Islands (Trinidad and Tobago)

2008 – Jamaica (Dominica)

2009 – Jamaica (Trinidad and Tobago)

2010 – Trinidad and Tobago (Trinidad and Tobago)

2011 – Jamaica (Trinidad and Tobago)

2012 – Barbados (St Kitts and Nevis)

2013 – TBC (Jamaica)