PM Douglas re-elected National Political Leader of Labour Party.

(Photo: Seated (left to right) – Mr. George Dixon, Ms. Sharylle Richardson, Mr. Rudolph Morton, Ms. Patricia Davis, Ms. Rubie Taylor.

Standing(left to right) – Mrs. Hazel Ross-Robinson, Mr. Philmore Warner, Ms. Thamesha Fyfield, Ms. Karen Crossman, Mrs. Diana Williams-Humphrey, the Hon. Nigel Carty, Hon. Marcella Liburd, the Hon. Dr. Earl Asim Martin, Rt. Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas. (Willet’s Photo).)

Marcella Liburd is first female chairperson

St. Kitts and Nevis’ Prime Minister the Rt. Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas has been re-elected National Political Leader of the governing St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party for the 25th consecutive year.

Dr. Douglas, who was first elected in 1989, was re-elected un-opposed indicated full confidence in his leadership at Sunday’s 81st National Conference of the St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party.

Delegates accepted the nomination unopposed of the Hon. Dr. Earl Asim Martin, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Energy, Utilities and Public Works, replacing the Hon. Sam Condor as Deputy Political Leader.

Minister of Health, Gender Affairs, Community and Social Development, the Hon. Marcella Liburd is the new National Chairperson. She was elected un-opposed replacing Dr. the Hon. Timothy Harris, thus becoming the first female to hold the post.

The National Vice Chairman is the Hon. Nigel Carty, Minister of Education, Information and Agriculture.

National Secretary Mrs. Diana Williams-Humphrey; National Assistant Secretary is Ms. Karen Crossman and the new National Treasurer is Mr. Patrice Ward, who replaces Dr. Norgen Wilson.

The other members of the National Executive are Ms. Thamesha Fyfield; Mr. Philmore Warner and Mrs. Hazel Ross-Robinson.

Representatives of the Constituencies are Sharylle Richardson (St. Christopher 1); Rudolph Morton (St. Christopher 2); George Dixon (St. Christopher 5); Rubie Taylor (St. Christopher 6) St. and Christopher 7,

St. Christopher 3, 4, and 8 and Young Labour and Labour Women will name their representatives later.