WICB announces schedule for England tour of Caribbean 2014

St John’s, Antigua – The West Indies Cricket Board today announced the schedule for England’s tour of the Caribbean 2014.

West Indies and England will play three One Day Internationals and three Twenty20 matches at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Grounds in Antigua and Kensington Oval in Barbados respectively.

The series will commence on February 28 and conclude on March 13 and the Twenty20 matches will be the last before West Indies defend their World Twenty20 title in Bangladesh

"This is one of the most highly anticipated tours on the cricketing calendar. West Indies’ battles with England have been legendary, going back to 1928 when the two teams first played. This Limited Overs series will form part of that rich legacy of competition which fans on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean are looking forward to with great anticipation," Cricket Operations Manager Roland Holder said.

"These two powerhouse Limited Overs teams possess some of the leading players in the world and the contests are sure to be entertaining and competitive in the very attractive 50 Over and Twenty20 Over formats," Holder said.

"The Caribbean has always benefitted from English fans travelling to the region for cricket and this compact series will be an ideal opportunity for that tradition to continue in what are two of the world’s premier tourism destinations – Antigua and Barbados," Holder noted.

"We are especially pleased that we are able to confirm and announce the full schedule well in advance of the series which will allow English fans who wish to travel to the Caribbean for the series to make their plans early," Holder added.

"There are also scores of West Indian fans who travel internally in the Caribbean and from beyond the region for cricket and they will also benefit from the early announcement of the schedule," Holder said.

England won the ICC World Twenty20 in Barbados in 2010, defeating Australia in the final. West Indies are reigning World Twenty20 champions, having won the trophy in 2012, beating Sri Lanka in the final.

West Indies v England Series Schedule

Tue 25 Feb England v Vice Chancellor’s XI (Venue TBC)

Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Grounds, Antigua

Fri Feb 28 – 1st ODI

Sun March 2 – 2nd ODI

Wed March 5 – 3rd ODI

Kensington Oval, Barbados

Sunday March 9 – 1st Twenty20

Tuesday March 11 – 2nd Twenty20

Thursday March 13 – 3rd Twenty20