MPs depart for IPOK Meeting in the Netherlands; IPOK March 5-8

After Members of Parliament (MPs) arrive in the Netherlands, on Tuesday, March 5 they will meet with the Chairman of the First Chamber Member of Parliament (MP) Hon. Fred de Graaf. This marks the start of the Kingdom Affairs and Inter-parliamentary Relations Conference (IPOK).

The delegates of the First and Second Chambers will also be present for a plenary session where all delegation leaders will give an opening speech. Thereafter MPs will meet to discuss issues of concern.

On Tuesday after lunch the four parliamentary delegations will continue their deliberations in the Thorbeckezaal at the Second Chamber of Parliament with respect to transportation issues.

The MPs will also meet with Dutch Prime Minister Hon. Mark Rutte and on Tuesday evening the delegations will be attending a dinner hosted by the chairman of the Second Chamber.

On Wednesday and Thursday deliberations will continue about health care, youth affairs and the 200 years celebration of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. MPs will also be on several work visits. The chairman of the First Chamber will host a dinner for MPs from the four parliamentary delegations.

On Friday morning the last day of the IPOK parliamentary conference, the delegations will make a number of decisions including the frequency of the parliamentary conferences between the four countries.

A decision list will be drafted and a joint press conference will take place that includes the four delegations. This can be followed live through the website of the Second Chamber and will take place in the Thorbeckezaal at 14.00.

The daily parliamentary meetings can also be followed live via the websites of the Second and First Chamber depending on the location.

The Sint Maarten delegation is headed by President of Parliament Hon. Rodolphe Samuel.

The Permanent Parliamentary Committee for Kingdom Affairs and Inter-parliamentary Relations is chaired by MP Hon. Roy Marlin, MP Hon. George Pantophlet, Vice Chairman, MP Hon. Patrick Illidge, MP Hon. Frans Richardson, and MP Hon. Dr. Ruth Douglass, who are all part of the delegation.

The delegation also includes MP Dr. Lloyd Richardson, Secretary General Jozef Semeleer and Advisor Ralph Richardson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top