Permaul named in Test squad for Bangladesh tour

ST. JOHN’S, Antigua – The West Indies Cricket Board announced on Saturday a 15-member squad for the tour of Bangladesh next month.



Darren Sammy (captain)

Denesh Ramdin (vice captain)

Tino Best

Darren Bravo

Shivnarine Chanderpaul

Narsingh Deonarine

Kirk Edwards

Assad Fudadin

Chris Gayle

Sunil Narine

Veerasammy Permaul

Kieran Powell

Ravi Rampaul

Kemar Roach

Marlon Samuels

Left-arm spinner Permaul will be making his first trip with a senior West Indies squad.

He has played 45 first-class matches since his debut five years ago, snaring 152 wickets at 24.59 apiece.

The 23-year-old from Guyana has just returned from a tour of Bangladesh with the Sagicor West Indies High Performance Centre, where he collected 21 wickets over the three formats of the game and was a constant threat with the ball.

He was the West Indies A-Team captain earlier this year, when they prevailed over India-A in a home series.

Edwards is recalled to the squad, after losing his place for the third Test on the tour of England earlier this year.

West Indies are scheduled to play two Tests, five One-day Internationals and one Twenty20 International on the tour between November 3 and December 12.