Fletcher, Charles & Brathwaite headline new Sagicor HPC squad

Graeme West appointed new Head Coach

Bridgetown, Barbados – Capped West Indies players Andre Fletcher, Johnson Charles and Carlos Brathwaite headline the list of 16 new inductees of the Sagicor High Performance Centre for the 2012-2013 programme.


online casino

Despite already having featured in 15 One Day Internationals and 16 Twenty20 Internationals, the Grenadian wicketkeeper/batsman Fletcher is still only 24 years old. He played for a three year period in West Indies, starting with his international debut in June 2008 but subsequently lost his place in the senior regional side.

An aggressive right handed opening batsman, Charles of St Lucia has played nine matches for the West Indies – 5 ODIs and 4 T20Is.

Brathwaite, a 23 year old all rounder from Barbados, has played a solitary ODI and a T20I, both against Bangladesh in 2011.

Some of the more notable players in the line up include exciting Barbadian top order batsman Kyle Hope; effervescent Anguillan and Leeward Islands wicketkeeper/batsman Jahmar Hamilton; St Lucia and Windward Islands batting all rounder Keddy Lesporis; Trinidadian leg spinning all rounder Yannic Cariah; Guyanese opener Trevon Griffith and Jamaican fast bowling duo of Sheldon Cotterell and Jason Dawes and all rounder Jermaine Blackwood.

Seven of the selected players have represented West Indies Under 19: Blackwood, Cariah, Dawes, Fletcher, Dawnley Grant, Griffith and Jomel Warrican.

Sagicor HPC Squad 2012

Marlon Barclay – Trinidad & Tobago (LHB)

Jermaine Blackwood – Jamaica (RHB/Right Arm Off Spin)

Carlos Brathwaite – Barbados (RHB/Right Arm Fast Medium)

Yannic Cariah – Trinidad & Tobago (RHB/Right Arm Leg Spin)

Johnson Charles – St Lucia (RHB/WKT)

Sheldon Cotterell – Jamaica (RHB/Left Arm Fast)

Miguel Cummins – Barbados (LHB/Right Arm Fast)

Jason Dawes – Jamaica (RHB/Right Arm Fast)

Andre Fletcher – Grenada (RHB/WKT)

Dawnley Grant – St Vincent (RHB)

Trevon Griffith – Guyana (LHB)

Kyle Hope – Barbados (RHB/Right Arm Off Spin)

Jahmar Hamilton – Anguilla (RHB/WKT)

Keddy Lesporis – St Lucia (RHB/Right Arm Off Spin)

Kjorn Ottley – Trinidad & Tobago (LHB/Left Arm Chinaman)

Jomel Warrican – Barbados (LHB/Left Arm Orthodox Spin)

The new squad will be encamped from June 1st at the HPC’s facilities located at the Cave Hill Campus of the University of the West Indies.

The HPC programme has been broadened to focus more intensely on developing the mental prowess of the players in addition to the standard rigorous training in skills development and fitness required for high performance athletes. The players will also benefit from specialised training in a number of other areas including their roles as ambassadors, personal development, anti-doping, anti-corruption and media skills among other areas.

The 2012-2013 programme will conclude in May 2013.

The WICB has also appointed former Middlesex County Academy Director, Graeme West to take over as Head Coach. West will have Andre Coley, who has been with the HPC from its inception, as Assistant Coach.

This is the second squad of the Sagicor HPC since its inauguration in 2010. With the exception of Andre Creary who was injured, the first group of players successfully completed their programme.

Sagicor HPC Squad 2010

Brandon Bess – Guyana

Nkrumah Bonner – Jamaica

Shamarh Brooks – Barbados

Rajendra Chandrika – Guyana

Keron Cottoy – St Vincent & The Grenadines

Kyle Corbin – Barbados

Andre Creary – Jamaica

Shane Dowrich – Barbados

Shannon Gabriel – Trinidad & Tobago

Jason Holder – Barbados

Delorn Johnson – St Vincent & The Grenadines

Kevin McClean – Barbados

Veerasammy Permaul – Guyana

Kieran Powell – St Kitts & Nevis

Devon Thomas – Antigua & Barbuda