President Hunte hails Jamaica’s historic year of dominance

St John’s, Antigua – President of the West Indies Cricket Board Dr. Julian Hunte has hailed the historic cricketing achievements of Jamaica in 2011.

"As the year is about to come to a close I wish to recognize the historic achievements of Jamaica this calendar year," Dr. Hunte said.

"It has been a phenomenal year of cricketing success for Jamaica and on behalf of all of West Indies cricket I congratulate them," Hunte added.

online casino

Jamaica did not start off the year in the brightest form, reaching the semi-finals of the Caribbean Twenty20 but thereafter the WICB’s northern most constituent dominated.

Jamaica won the WICB Regional 4 Day Tournament for the fourth consecutive year. The Under 15 team took the title in Trinidad while the Under 19 team pocketed the 3 Day trophy in Guyana.

The women team dethroned the Trinidadians in the Women 50 Over League and the men knocked off all challengers for the newly inaugurated Clive Lloyd Trophy of the Regional Super50 which was played in Guyana in October.

Only two of seven WICB 2012 titles Jamaica did not place in their trophy cabinet – Caribbean Twenty20 which was won by Trinidad and Tobago and the Under 19 50 Over which Barbados claimed.

"Never in the history of West Indies cricket has any team been so dominant at the regional level and the signs are clear that Jamaica’s cricket, in challenging times, remains strong and formidable," President Hunte observed.

"We have seen a steady and consistent rising in Jamaica’s cricket. The trophies apart, we have seen several of their players coming through the ranks and move into West Indies cricket at the international and A Team levels," Dr. Hunte added.

"Andre Russell, Danza Hyatt, Nkrumah Bonner, Stafanie Taylor, Shanel Daley, Odean Brown are among them along with the re-emergence of Marlon Samuels and Carlton Baugh," Dr. Hunte pointed out.

"There are also several exciting players from Jamaica on the horizon who look to have a bright future in West Indies cricket and these include Andre Creary, John Campbell, Horace Miller, Akeem Dewar and numerous others," the WICB head projected.

Jamaica will aim to win their first Caribbean Twenty20 title in January when the tournament bowls off in Antigua and Barbados.