ICB President congratulates Jamaica women

-Jamaica has four regional titles for 2011
St John’s, Antigua – President of the West Indies Cricket Board Dr. Julian Hunte has sent congratulations to the Jamaica Women’s team for their triumph in the WICB Women’s 50 Over League.

online casino

“Heartiest congratulations to Stafanie Taylor and her outstanding team who played like true champions as they dethroned Trinidad & Tobago,” Dr. Hunte said.
“Going into the match the Jamaicans were deemed to be underdogs but showed great hunger and commitment and prevailed deservingly,” Dr. Hunte added.
Jamaica completed a 30 run win over the Trinis at the Kensington Oval on Sunday. It is Jamaica’s first women’s title in three years.
“I must also congratulate the Merissa Aguilleira led Trinidad and Tobago team which fought bravely and played impressively throughout the tournament but could not make it over the last hurdle,” Dr. Hunte remarked.
“It was a tournament from which we will be able to identify players to move on to the next level as Women’s cricket in the West Indies continues to grow and flourish,” Dr. Hunte observed.
“In addition to Taylor, who was Player-of-the-Final, I also want to congratulate Jamaican all rounder Shanel Daley for topping the wickets table and her consistently notable performances throughout the tournament which led to her being awarded Player-of-the-Tournament,” Dr. Hunte highlighted
Jamaica has now won four of six regional titles for 2011. They have won the WICB Regional 4 Day Tournament, WICB Under 15 Tournament, WICB Under 19 Tournament (3 Day title) and the WICB Women’s 50 Over League.
“The WICB congratulates Jamaica for their trophy haul so far this year, it is a clear indication that cricket in Jamaica is thriving and some good things are being done at the developmental level,” Dr. Hunte noted.
Jamaica will have an opportunity to increase the count in their trophy cabinet when the WICB Regional Super50 Tournament bowls off in Guyana in October.
The other two trophy winners in 2011 are Trinidad & Tobago (Caribbean Twenty20) and Barbados (WICB Under 19 Tournament – 50 Over title).