WICB President Cameron congratulates Jamaica on winning Women’s Super50

Kingston, Jamaica – President of the West Indies Cricket Board Whycliffe ‘Dave’ Cameron extended congratulations on behalf of the WICB to the Jamaica Women’s team for their impressive triumph in the Regional Super50 Tournament which concluded in Grenada yesterday.


"On behalf of the WICB I congratulate Captain and Player-of-the-Final Stafanie Taylor and her team along with the Jamaica Cricket Association for this significant victory," Mr. Cameron said.

"I also wish to further congratulate Jamaica for retaining the title which they had won in 2012. It is a clear indication that women’s cricket in Jamaica is continuing to gain strength. Jamaica also has two of the finest women’s cricketers in the world in Stafanie and Shanel Daley and there are others such as Natasha McLean who are emerging into the West Indies senior women’s team and who are expected to be successes on the international stage as well," Cameron added.

"I also wish to congratulate Merissa Aguilleira and her Trinidad and Tobago team for reaching the final. Further let me extend best wishes to all the teams which will now go on to compete for the Twenty20 title," Cameron said.

"We are reassured that the women cricketers in the region are committed to raising the standard of the game and we will continue to tangibly ensure that they have the support structure needed and increased competition, such as we have done this year to play both the Super50 and the Twenty20 formats, to aid them in being even more competitive," Cameron concluded.

Jamaica defeated Trinidad and Tobago in the final with a comprehensive seven wicket win. Jamaica dismissed T&T for a paltry 83 in 38 overs then romped to 86 for 3 in 21.1 overs.

Jamaica captain Stafanie Taylor snapped up 3 for 13 from seven overs while Shanel Daley supported with 2 for 9. Only Trinidadian captain Merissa Aguilleira (17) and Stacy Ann King (15) reached double figures.

Chinelle Henry led the Jamaican run chase with a run-a-ball 31 with six boundaries while Natasha McLean made a resolute unbeaten 22 from 63 deliveries which contained three fours.

The teams will now take a short break before commencing the Twenty20 Tournament which gets on the way on Friday August 16th and concludes with the final on Thursday August 22 at the Grenada National Stadium.

The other six teams in the tournament are Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, St Lucia and St Vincent and the Grenadines.