Sylvia Meyers: Congratulations to the new Chamber of Commerce & Industry Board

I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the new Executive Board of the St. Maarten Chamber of Commerce & Industry on behalf of the UP parliamentary faction that are now in place to carry out the Chamber’s plans for 2013.

The persons of the board are: Tamara Leonard, President, Hubert Pantophlet, Vice President, Sidharth "Cookie" Bijlani, Treasurer, Arthur Bute, Immediate Past President, Ludwig Quenniche, Immediate Past Vice President, Charlise Philips, Member, Abdul Meyers, Member, Ajay Rawtani, Member and Stanley Lint, Member.


The chamber without doubt has a role to play in 2013 as there are many issues of importance. The chamber has already outlined some of the things that they will be doing such as strengthening the public/private partnership, advice on employment agencies, consumer protection, internal upgrading of the Chamber, redesign of the Chamber website, training and development, and the rebranding of the Chamber.

The UP parliamentary faction looks forward to working with the new Chamber with respect to initiatives where parliament would be involved.

I commend the Chamber on the many initiatives that it will undertake in the New Year.

Working in partnership with all stakeholders is key. The invaluable support by the Chamber to the business community is necessary, especially where it concerns new businesses.

Sylvia Meyers

Interim Faction Leader, United People’s (UP) Party

Member of Parliament

Friday, January 25, 2013