Permanent Committee of Parliament for Kingdom Affairs Meets on 10 Point Agenda

The Permanent Committee of Parliament for Kingdom Affairs and Inter Parliamentary Relations will meet on September 20.


The meeting will take place on Thursday morning at 10.00am in the General Assembly Chamber of the House of Parliament at Wilhelmina Straat #1 in Philipsburg.

The first agenda point is the Convention for the Protection of Intangible Cultural Heritage; second agenda point, measures related to the Treaty of Antarctica; third agenda point, answers to questions from the Dutch Second Chamber of Parliament with respect to cross-Atlantic ticket price differences which were raised at the Inter parliamentary meeting in January between delegations from the four parliaments in the Kingdom.

The fourth agenda point is changes to the International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships; 5., a report over the state of affairs regarding parliamentary approval of treaties; 6., a proposal regarding cooperation of the Kingdom inter parliamentary meeting; 7., a proposal to change a Kingdom Law regarding Nationality for obtaining and granting the Dutch nationality; 8., a proposal to approve a Kingdom Law dealing with a protocol from 1 November 2002, London, Treaty of Athens relating to the transportation of passengers and their luggage; 9. a Kingdom Law related to Strasbourg Convention on Illicit Traffic by Sea and implementing Article 17 of the United Nations Convention against Illicit Traffic in Drugs and Psychotropic Substances; 10. A law proposal regarding the Kingdom Law on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters, signed in Paris, France

The chairman of the committee is Member of Parliament (MP) from the Democratic Party Hon. Roy Marlin. Other committee members are: MP Hon. Dr. Ruth Douglass (United Peoples party), MP Hon. Patrick Illidge (Independent), MP. Hon. George Pantophlet (National Alliance), MP Hon. Frans Richardson (Independent), and MP Hon. Romain Laville (Independent).

The permanent committee meeting will be carried live on St. Maarten Cable TV Channel 120, with a live stream on the internet via Parliament’s website, Pearl Radio FM 98.1 (audio), and also via