2011-2012 Parliamentary Year Closes on Monday; New Parliamentary Year Opens on Tuesday with Governor

The 2011-2012 Parliamentary Year will close on Monday, September 10 in a meeting of Parliament.


President of Parliament Hon. drs. Rodolphe E. Samuel will be opening the session at 10.00am in the General Assembly Chamber at the House of Parliament, Wilhelminastraat, Philipsburg.

The two agenda points for Monday are incoming documents, and closure of the 2011-2012 Parliamentary Year.

On Tuesday, September 11, at 10.00am, a solemn session for the opening of the 2012-2013 Parliamentary Year will begin, chaired by the President of Parliament. Additional information with respect to the program will be released within short.

A solemn meeting of Parliament marks the start of the Parliamentary Year and the Governor’s Speech sets out the government’s agenda.

The opening represents a public statement of the government’s legislative programme for Parliament’s next working year. A new Parliamentary Year is opened every second Tuesday of September.

The main element is the Governor’s Speech written by the government and read out in the General Assembly Chamber in the House of Parliament to invited guests such as members of the High Councils of State, the Judiciary and other government officials. The Council of Ministers will also be part of the solemn meeting.

Both sessions of the House of Parliament on the aforementioned dates will be carried live on St. Maarten Cable TV Channel 120, will stream live on the internet via Parliament’s website www.sxmparliament.org, via Pearl Radio FM 98.1 (audio), and also via www.pearlfmradio.com.