Formation of a New Government for St. Maarten

On April 30th 2012, four members of Parliament, MP Romain Laville, MP Patrick Illidge, MP Roy Marlin and MP Petrus Leroy de Weever, signed a letter addressed to the Prime Minister of St. Maarten, the Honourable Mrs. Sarah Wescot-Williams, informing her that with immediate effect they are withdrawing their support from the government of St. Maarten.


online casino

Immediately following that another letter was signed off on, this time by MPs Romain Laville, Patrick Illidge, Roy Marlin, Petrus Leroy de Weever, Frans Richardson and William Marlin, on behalf of the National Alliance, representing 5 seats.

This letter, addressed to the Honourable Governor of St. Maarten, Drs. Eugene Holiday, states, that the undersigned members of Parliament of Sint Maarten representing a majority of 10 seats in the Parliament of Sint Maarten, hereby inform that they are prepared to form a new government of Sint Maarten as soon as possible and give that government their support for the remainder of the governing period, 2010 – 2014.

The letter, which was copied to the Prime Minister, further states, that in view of the above, we also request you to ensure that the present caretaker government does not sign off on any decisions with major financial, governmental and political consequences.

On Tuesday evening the new coalition partners met once again to discuss the division of political responsibilities and signed on to the following:

The National Alliance:

The Minister of VROMI – Deputy Prime Minister.

Minister of Finance

Minister of Education

Deputy Minister Pleni-Potentiary

Chairman of Parliament

The Democratic Party:

Minister of General Affairs – Prime Minister

Minister of Public Health & Labour

Minister Pleni-Potentiary

2nd Vice Chair of Parliament

Independent Member Patrick Illidge:

Minister of Justice

Independent Members Frans Richardson and Romain Laville:

Minister of Economic Affairs (Jointly)

Independent Member Romain Laville:

Deputy Chairman of Parliament