Prime Minister and Minister of Sports Open 35th Annual Little League Tournament

On Saturday March 17, 2012 Prime Minister Sarah Wescot Williams and Minister of Sports Dr. Rhoda Arrindell officially opened the 35th annual Little League Tournament at the Little League Stadium on Pond Island.

online casino

“I wish you all a most enjoyous tournament, we know that you are all winners,” said Minister of Sports Dr. Rhoda Arrindell. The Minister also mentioned that a sports plan will be unveiled soon for the upgrading and promotion for not just facilities but athletes, coaches and trainers. The Prime Minister wished the players much success and encouraged persons to support the Little League as a means of keeping the young boys occupied constructively.
This year’s tournament features some 22 teams in 5 categories namely 4 teams in Pee Wee league, 4 teams in 9-10, 7 teams in 11-12, 4 teams 13-14 and 3 teams in 15-16. During the opening ceremony Little league player Jalen Constance and all the other players present recited the Little League Pledge as follows, I trust in God – I love my Country and will respect its laws – I will play fair and strive to win – But win or lose I will always do my best. 

The President of the Little League Association Ronald Jacobs addressed those in attendance by stating that next year (2013) the association will be hosting the 15 -16 Latin American Tournament on St. Maarten with the goal of winning the tournament. He also thanked the Government of St. Maarten as the largest annual contributor to the Little League Tournament.