St.Maarten one of 21 countries/territories that signs Nine Point Political Declaration

At 2012 Ministerial OCTA Conference in Brussels

Country Sint Maarten was one of 21 countries/territories that signed the nine point political declaration earlier this week in Brussels at the 2012 Overseas Countries and Territories Association’s (OCTA) Ministerial Conference.

online casino

Prime Minister Hon. Sarah Wescot-Williams says the Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs) noted with deep concern the global financial crisis and economic recession that has caused considerable disruption to the economies of the European Union (EU) and OCTs, which has also constrained the resources of the European Community (EC) and has increased the vulnerability of OCTs to varying degrees, making the future relationship with the EU even more critical to their future sustainable development.

Wescot-Williams added that the OCTs have recognized that the EU has taken into account the changes and developments in challenges and opportunities for OCTs since the 2001 Overseas Association Decision (OAD) and is working in partnership with OCTs and Member States to increase OCT competitiveness, lessen their vulnerability and strengthen regional cooperation in the framework of the revision of the OAD.

The nine points in the Political Declaration covers the following areas: Partnership between the EU and the OCTs; Management of OCTs affairs; Long Term Technical Assistance to OCTA; Partnership Working Party; Territorial Strategies for Innovation & Regional Projects; Environment and Climate Change; Trade; Equal treatment for all OCTs; and Rights of OCT Citizens.

The OCTs are non-European countries and territories that have special relations with Denmark, France, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom.

They are associated with the European Community with a view to promoting their economic and social development and establishing close economic relations between them and the Community as a whole.

There are in total approximately 25 OCTs. The OCTs are constitutionally linked to a Member State, but without being part of the Community.