Former Cft president Hans Weitenberg passed away


 Former president of the Board of financial supervision (College financieel toezicht – Cft), prof. drs. Hans Weitenberg passed away Friday September 9th, 2011, after a short period of illness.

online casino

He died peacefully, surrounded by his dear ones. One week earlier Weitenberg resigned as president. Friday September 16th, 2011 Weitenberg will be buried in his home town Noordwijk aan Zee.
Professor Weitenberg, born in 1939 in Workum, Friesland, was an authoritative expert of public finance. After having finished his study of general economics at the University of Tilburg, he worked amongst others for twenty years at the Central Planning Bureau. In the entire Kingdom he was respected and appreciated, predominantly because of his strong involvement with the islands. His first visit to the six islands of the former Netherlands Antilles took place in the late seventies, as member of a team which was established by the former Dutch Finance Minister Fons van der Stee, in order to record the problems in the relationship between the Netherlands and the Antilles. Later he was also member of a Kingdom Committee in charge of the preparations for the status aparte of Aruba. The late Boelie van Leeuwen even praised Weitenberg in his book “Geniale Anarchie” for his matter-of-fact way of presenting financial facts.
In 2007, based on a Temporary Decree of the Kingdom Weitenberg took upon himself the function of president of the Board of financial supervision for Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, and in 2008 Curaçao and Sint Maarten followed. As of October 2010 there are two new Boards of financial supervision, and Weitenberg became president of both. Professor Weitenberg managed to build up Cft to an authoritative institution. Weitenberg had a natural predominance and an amiable personality, which always brought tranquility, especially in the occasional tense situation, or when delicate matters had to be dealt with. His integrity and fairness made him an unquestioned person for all parties in the Kingdom. This eased the way for Cft to develop into a completely independent institute that stands above all parties.
Cft Curaçao and Sint Maarten consists now of Ms. Margo Vliegenthart as member upon proposal of the Netherlands and Mr. Alberto Romero upon proposal of Curaçao. Mr. Richard Gibson has been postulated at the Queen as member for Sint Maarten. For the Cft which is responsible for Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Mr. Max Pandt is member upon proposal of the BES islands, alongside Ms. Vliegenthart. The Kingdom Council of Ministers shall decide shortly on a new Cft president.