Parliament to meet on a number of issues on Tuesday and Wednesday in four sessions

Honourable President of Parliament Drs. Gracita Arrindell would like to announce that Parliament has four meetings planned for Tuesday and Wednesday.

On Tuesday, March 8 the Central Committee will meet at 9.00am in the General Assembly Chamber of Parliament in the former Caribbean Palm building to discuss a three point agenda. 

online casino

The Aruba Minister of Economic, Social and Cultural Affairs, has invited the Parliament of Sint Maarten to attend the 25th anniversary of Aruba’s separate status to be held from March 16 to 18.

Aruba’s parliament has also invited the parliaments in the Dutch Caribbean including Curacao and Sint Maarten for a three-parliament presidium meeting for either March 14 or 15.

The second agenda point is an invitation from the Secretariat of the Commission of the Latin American Parliament Daisy Tourne, to attend a number of meetings on March 24 and 25 in Panama, City, Panama. Some of the commission meetings planned are, Energy & Mines, Agriculture, and Justice.

The third agenda point was an invitation from "The Points of Light Institute," tribute event where President and First lady George Bush will be recognized, and this will be held on March 21 in the John F. Kennedy Center of the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C. USA.

Also on Tuesday, the Permanent Committee for Tourism, Economic Affairs, Transport and Telecommunications, will meet at 10.30am in the General Chamber.

The agenda point is a meeting with Saint Martin United Ministerial Foundation concerning the visit of All Gay Cruises ship scheduled to call at the Port of Sint Maarten.

The committee comprises of Members of Parliament (MP) Hon. Jules James, Hon. MP Petrus de Weever, Hon MP Patrick Illidge and Hon MP Frans Richardson.

The third meeting scheduled for Tuesday is the Ad Hoc Committee Revision of the Rules of Order, which will also meet in the General Assembly Chamber at 2.00pm to discuss the Rules of Order of the House of Parliament.

Parliamentary Committee members are MP Dr. Lloyd Richardson, MP Roy Marlin and MP Sylvia Olivacce-Meyers.

The Permanent Committee of Parliament for Kingdom Affairs and Inter-parliamentary Relations is scheduled to meet on Wednesday, March 9 at 9.00am in the General Chamber.

The agenda point for this meeting is to discuss the concept letter related to the position taken by the Parliament of Sint Maarten regarding the democratic deficit within the Kingdom related to the report "Kiezen voor het Koninkrijk."

The aforementioned report was made by the Commission Democratic Deficit and presented in November 2009. The Commission reviewed the role of the Kingdom Council of Ministers and the decision making process and how this can be monitored and controlled.

Members of the committee are MP Roy Marlin, MP Dr. Ruth Douglass, MP William Marlin and MP Patrick Illidge.