WICB name strong Windies Women squad for India Tour

St John’s, Antigua – The West Indies Cricket Board’s Selection Panel has named a strong team to represent the West Indies Women against India in the sub-continent early next year.

Merissa Aguilleira, the inspirational captain and wicket-keeper, will again lead the side. Anisa Mohammed, the world-rated off-spinner, will continue as Vice Captain.


online casino

The Windies will play five One Day Internationals and three T20 Internationals between January 10 and 24.

The squad features most of the players who performed brilliantly at the recent ICC Women’s Challenge in South Africa – where they won the T20 trophy and placed second in the 50 Over Tournament.

The one newcomer in the 14-member squad is June Ogle-Thomas, the all rounder from Guyana. She was selected based on her performances in the West Indies Cricket Board’s Women’s 50 Over League which was played in St Vincent in August.

"It will be a challenging tour but we are confident we can do well against the Indian girls on their home soil. It will be the first time in India for many of us but we believe we can rise above the challenge. We want to continue from where we left off in South Africa where we played so very well," Aguilleira said.

"The Indians are ranked above us in the ICC rankings but we believe we can do well against them and move up. We need to show improvement from the tour in South Africa. Our experienced players will be the ones to lead from the front, but in South Africa everyone made a contribution at some stage so we know we have a team with depth and strength," Aguilleira added.


Merissa Aguilleira (Captain/Wicket-keeper) – Trinidad & Tobago

Anisa Mohammed (Vice Captain) – Trinidad & Tobago

Shemaine Campbelle (Wicket-keeper) – Guyana

Britney Cooper – Trinidad & Tobago

Shanel Daley – Jamaica

Deandra Dottin – Barbados

Pearl Etienne – Dominica

Stacy Ann King – Trinidad & Tobago

Subrina Munroe – Guyana

Juliana Nero – St Vincent & Grenadines

June Ogle-Thomas – Guyana

Shakera Selman – Barbados

Tremayne Smartt – Guyana

Stafanie Taylor – Jamaica


January 3: arrive Mumbai

January 8: warm-up match v BCCI President’s XI at BKC

January 10: 1st One-Day International at Mumbai

January 13: 2nd One-Day International at Baroda

January 15: 3rd One-Day International at Baroda

January 18: 4th One-Day International at Rajkot

January 19: 5th One-Day International at Rajkot

January 22: 1st T20 International at Ahmedabad

January 23: 2nd T20 International at Ahmedabad

January 24: 3rd T20 International at Ahmedabad