SCDF elects new board

In accordance with its articles of incorporation, the St. Maarten Carnival development Foundation (SCDF) held elections this past week for a new board which will guide Carnival for the next two years. The SCDF consists of an Executive Board of three supported by seven board members. 

online casino

After serving the foundation for nine years in various forms, Stuart Johnson was elected as President of the SCDF. Rounding up the Executive Board are two former presidents of the SCDF. Erno Labega and Michael Granger were elected by acclamation as Treasurer and Secretary respectively.

Immediate past President Gina Illidge will remain with the board, along with Roland Rommy, Edgardo Lynch, Edwardo Radjouki and Vida Boyrard. Board member Martin Wilson was appointed as Vice President of the foundation.

"The organizing of carnival is a daunting task requiring the support of the entire community. Carnival is bigger than any individual or group. The board of SCDF is calling on your support and cooperation as we continue to prepare for Carnival 2011," Johnson said.

"We would like to extend my thanks to all those individuals who have contributed in making our annual cultural celebrations possible every year. We shall be celebrating the first carnival as Country St. Maarten, so let us make sure to embrace it as we celebrate it in grand style.

"Special appreciation goes out to the outgoing President Gina Illidge and all members of the outgoing board. Your work and dedication is appreciated and hasn’t gone unnoticed. On behalf of SCDF, we thank you for your dedication and commitment," he concluded.